I thought i knew the breed bout not sure now help lol

Duck Mad

Chirping
8 Years
Mar 13, 2011
Rugby
82535_pets_159.jpg

Thought he was an Appleyard.. but could be WH ... does anybody know which breed ducky is for sure?

82535_mels_and_muddley_003.jpg

This one was supposed to be a female Muscovy.. but size tells me the duck is male...
what age do Muscovys get red faces? no sign of red yet

I'm still learning breeds, but I think your first one might be a saxony or welsh harlequin and the other one looks ancona to me. I do see some heavy markings on the bill, perhaps it's a hybrid? I'm not 100% sure.

Last edited:
The first one has to be a Harlequin - he's too small and slender to be an Appleyard (and the color's wrong for a Saxony).

The second one looks like maybe a Muscovy hybrid (also known as a "mule" or "hinny" duck, depending one whether the Muscovy was the father or mother). If it is a hybrid, it will be sterile and unable to breed. Either that or it's a pure Muscovy. I don't know much about 'Scovies!
big_smile.png

Last edited:
The top photo looks like color is off (on the photo, not the duck, as whites are not white) but I would guess Saxony also if size is the same. Welsh harlequins are smaller, light weight ducks versus the heavyweight breed of the appleyard and saxony. Has anyone ever heard of Manikin ducks? Someone told me they look a lot like WH but I can't find any info on them. Anyway, both beautiful birds!

Edited to add: I'm not saying sweetfolly is wrong about the bird coloring, I don't know much about it so I can't say. But the color in the photo can also be misleading...maybe another pic? I would say the size difference should be enough to tell if it's Saxony or WH though.
big_smile.png

Last edited:
smile.png