I want to change where my chickens lay

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by 3eyedchicken, Jun 7, 2015.

1. 3eyedchicken

3eyedchicken In the Brooder

Jun 7, 2015
    Hey everyone ! I'm brand new to BYC as a member. I've used this community to answer many questions in the past but it seems that no one has asked this question so here it goes.

We recently modified and expanded our chicken area in anticipation of getting new hens.

Our 6 hens who have been sharing 2 nesting boxes now have 5 new areas to lay and beside using a placebo egg are there any other ways to encourage them to lay in the new areas ?

2. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    [​IMG]

This can be a tough one. chickens are powerful creatures of habit and don't like change. Besides using bait eggs, I'm thinking you'll have to completely deny them access to the old laying spot until they establish a new habit. They'll likely fuss and squawk and carry on like you're kicking their puppy, but they'll eventually get over it.

3. Messipaw

Messipaw Songster

Apr 3, 2013
    I agree. I just experienced this myself. I rearranged their pen and had to remove an old rabbit hutch that my hens loved laying in. My eight girls have five other nesting boxes. All clean and private. I noticed a drop in eggs, found a secret stash behind some flowers. I put them in lock down. LOL
    I gave them no choice but to use their nest boxes. I didn't allow them to free range for a week. Now everything seems back to normal.
    Good luck