idk if its normal when its cold or not?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Mogli, Dec 9, 2010.

1. Mogli

Mogli Chillin' With My Peeps

its winter time here in northwestern PA its 22 degrees out now and it gets in the teens at nite im new to chickens ive only hadem since june this year dont know everything aboutem but i noticed today 1 of my hens also maybe a 2nd one has raised up scales on there legs were the 3 toes start to spread out idk if its leg mites or what do there leg scales raise up when its cold out in the winter time?if theres mites wouldnt they be little white worms on there legs. the scales are raised up alittle and alittle patchy white on the leg but there acting just fine is it no big deal what im seeing?[​IMG]

2. chics in the sun

chics in the sun Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2010
    St.Petersburg
    Pictures would help if you can post some. It does sound like mites, and no, there would not also be worms on them. Mites are tiny tiny bugs.

3. Mogli

i dont have anyway to post pics rite now where do mites come from i use hay for beding is leg mites that big of a problem if not touched

4. Mogli

what can i put on there legs to make there scales go down and lay flat like normal does leg mites and raised scales come from straw beding?

5. barbieszoo

barbieszoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 7, 2010
    Stillwater, OK
    I am certainly no expert, but I think people on here have said to use Vaseline (petroleum jelly) to coat the legs which suffocates the mites so they die out. I'm sure another poster will know more.

6. CMV

CMV Flock Mistress

Apr 15, 2009