I'm Just getting Started. All advice is welcome.

bigstack

Songster
10 Years
Jan 4, 2010
Texarkana, TX
Hello all,
I am building up my coop and run now for my first chicks. I will be expecting them in mid February. I want to raise astrolorp hens crossed with black giant roos. Eventualy I want to raise up a huge brown egg layer. I am beginning on a long and hopefully proffitable adventure. I know It will take years and money but I want to breed up the largest brown egg layers ever. In body and egg size. I am thinking on starting with 22 astro hens and 3 Blk Giant roos. Selling the culls and some eggs along the way to help offset the cost. Any advice would be appreciated. I have been reading up and studying on the net for a while now. I am preparing a list of meds and anything else I might need. I like to be prepared. I always plan for the worst, Hope for the best, and just except what I can't change. I have a few more Items to add to my run and coop. I am going to move the nest boxes to the outside of the coop to save room. ( an idea i got from BYC) and I am going to put an electric fence around and above the coop. I have alot of wild dogs around here. I dont want to shoot them unless I have to.Wish me luck! thanks and good brooding!
(I have already been advised not to buy from a hatchery if I want size, production yes but size no!)

Hello, and Welcome!

You sound like you have an interesting project going there. The thing with Jersey Giants though, is that they take a long time to grow, and mine are terrible layers. They haven’t been a bird for me anyway that really pays for its keep. So breeding the Jersey Roosters to the Australorp hens I think is the better solution of the two. Hopefully the cross with Black Australorp will help out a lot in egg production. Do keep in mind that most don’t want a huge bird for egg laying as the feed to egg ratio isn’t very efficient. But, this does sound like a neat project, so let us know what happens.