I'm new to chicks and this site!! HELP!!!

achickschirp

In the Brooder
6 Years
Mar 24, 2013
Ok, so it's chick days at Tractor Supply Co.!!! We decided that we should get some! This is my first time raising chicks or chicken! I'm doing this with my half sister and my step dad. My real father and I used to raise chicks, but I was just little about 3-7! So, kind of new! I have a few questions for people that buy chicks from Tractor Supply (TSC) or people that raise chicks to hens and roosters. Here they are: What kind of chicks should I get there? There's a minimum of 6, so me sister and I will each get three. There they have: Red pullets, Mixed pullets, RSL,Mixed Bantams, and leghorns. 2-What brand of food should I get? 3-What should I use for a temporary bad weather inside coop(or tub)? 4-Has anybody got roosters labelled pullets? 5- Does straight mean that they are all one gender? 6-(sorry I have a bunch of questions) What do you suggest to do when looking for clean, well fed, healthy chicks? 7-Should I get them from TSC or Orscheln?
Thankyou very much! I might even get them this Thursday!!! So happy!

welcome-byc.gif
It's better to buy sexed chicks(pullets) if you can because straight run ends up being alot of roosters.

Greetings from Kansas and
welcome-byc.gif
! Great to have you here! I'll give you a little homework to help answer your questions:

If you are wondering what chicks to get and you want egg layers, as drumstick advised, be careful at feed stores - you may end up with roosters. Get the sex-link varieties if possible so there are no mistakes. At the very least don't select from the "grab bag" tub. You can probably safely get a certain breed of hens there if they in their own enclosure and labeled as pullets.
-a dig box can work as a temporary brooder in the basement or garage. I have two 150 gallon plastic stock tanks that I use until they are big enough to go to their outside coop.