I'm still learning with my new hens...newbie here.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by coolcanoechic, Dec 2, 2011.

1. coolcanoechic

coolcanoechic Chillin' With My Peeps

I just finished building my coop with run last week and purchased 3 hens from a breeder on Craigs list. One Rhode Island Red, one New Hampshire Red, and one Plymouth Barred Rock. All good birds for this area. They were used to free ranging with little human contact before I got them. They are in lock up, of course, until they know where their new home is.

I felt that they were traumatized by the move and the change. They were frightened of me and slept in their nesting box the first two nights. I closed it off after that until I thought they would roost at night. Last night I removed the barrier from the nesting boxes and they did not sleep in them. Yea! :lol

I have been trying to come up with a routine to acclimate them to their new environment. I have only had them for one week now. When I leave for work in the morning, I turn on their light in the coop and open their coop door. That is at 3 am. When I get home in the afternoon, I bring them a treat, close the coop door and clean it out and change the water. Then I open it again. They are now getting used to me and the NH Red sort of makes a crying noise when she see's me. Today, I actually got her to take some scratch out of my hand. I think she is the most receptive to me so far. [​IMG] They all cluck when I arrive and I think they know I am bringing them a treat. It is my opinion, that they have never had treats, so I am going sparingly with them, so I don't give them an unintentional belly ache. I sing when I am there taking care of business and the NH Red cries at me and follows me. I think it's so cute. [​IMG]