impacted/"doughy" crop

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by SunnySideUp312, Mar 29, 2017.

1. SunnySideUp312

SunnySideUp312 New Egg

Apr 12, 2015
    Hi I am new to chickens and in need of help!
    My problems began after a round of worming treatment. It has been over 6 months since I wormed the girls. I began with the Wazine in their water and followed up with the Safeguard goat wormer. After the second day of the wormer my buff orphinton started to withdraw and behave a little odd. I have 3 girls and she is the only one having issues. She is laying down all the time, she will not eat and is taking in very little water on her own.

Day 1: Gave Wazine in water and locked them in the run so it was only water source
    Day 2: weighed each girl on postal scale approximately 4# and 11oz Buff Orphington, (x2) and 4#9oz Speckled Sussex
    Gave 1ml of safegaurd goat wormer per bird.
    missed a day of wormer -worked late (poops were a little runny but I expected that )
    Day 3 Gave second dose of wormer 1 ml each
    Day 4 started to notice less activity in my one Buff (Star) She is keeping to herself and lying down. Held off on more wormer.
    Day 5 definite change in Star. She wont come when called and has no interest in food. She will drink on her own. Crop is full but soft. Poop is bright green. She is listless and isolates self from flock, she seems lost. I started electrolytes in water. gave some by syringe but she will still drink on her own.I offered yogurt but she wont eat. I massage her crop and check it at bed time. It is still soft but feels full ( not tight like, overfull. just full) Poop is spinach green (dark) with yellow and runny.