Incubating duck eggs questions...

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by lemkoboxer, Jun 21, 2010.

1. lemkoboxer

lemkoboxer In the Brooder

Jun 6, 2009
    MA
    Tried to post this in the incubating eggs section, but no replies.... Hopefully some of you that frequent this thread can help me.

I have 23 duck eggs in the bator... It's a forced air Lyon Roll-X I've hatched several sets of chickens with but I am rather new to the duck egg thing. I did manage to hatch out 3 of 6 khaki campbell eggs at a school recently, but they were treated exactly the same as the chicken eggs they were in with. A student brought them in so we threw them in the bator!

I've been reading many varied opinions about what the humidity should be... To mist, not to mist?

So what's the concensus? What's worked for you.

I've got muscovy, a few crested pekin, a few runners, and two call eggs in there. I know they have different inucbation periods and will set up a separate incubator as a hatcher if the calls end up developing to the end. The person I got the eggs from has never had any luck getting her call hen to set so I'd said I'd try to hatch em if she gave me some ; )

Any other advice for getting a good hatch?

Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  2. duckyfromoz

duckyfromoz Quackaholic

Jan 11, 2010
    Australia
    I have a fan in my incubator but still move the eggs into different positions during the incubation period. I hand turn the eggs 3 times a day for the first week and twice a day after that. I mist the eggs ever second or third day depending on the size of the aircell. I have my hydrometer in the hatcher rather than the incubator - but aim for 55%- 60 % during incubation and up to 80% during lockdown The climate where you live can have an effect on what humidity you should have in your incubator.

I also talk to the babies once they start to pip to try to encourage them to talk back- and to each other as well.

Best of luck with your eggs - When are they due?

3. iamcuriositycat