Incubator Humidity HELP!!! First Timer

karaokechick

Chirping
9 Years
Oct 25, 2010
Naples, Florida
I have a home-made cooler style incubator, I have water 1/8 inch deep on the bottom bowls on the rack and my hydrometer says the RH is only 48% .... It is so moist & wet in there, yet it still says 45%-48% ....I live in Florida and in my house with the AC on its 55%+ I am guessing the hydrometer is bad? It just doesn't seem right. Are my Duck eggs OK if the RH is way too high?
HELP!!!!
A BIG Thanks in Advance!
sad.png

dont know a lot about duck eggs, but in Florida the humidity is already high, you ever tried running no water at all, is your window fogging up bad, i would try another hydrometer first.

This was my first try at hatching, I am very new to having chickens. I hatched 1 chicken egg the other day and was soooo excited, out of 12 eggs that were shipped from NJ four made it through the postal system without being smashed, one peeped and died, the other hatched and is doing great! I set the duck eggs earlier thinking they would be OK since the chicks looked like they were developing well, then I read about higher humidity and really got scared since these eggs were not in the higher humidity like they should. I went to home depo looking for a new hydrometer, and no luck. I read on here about the pet store carrying one so I am going to head there today I guess. I just don't understand why the one I have is so off! But do you think the Duck eggs will be OK?

Have you tried calibrating or testing your hygrometer?

Salt Test:
Luckily, as nature would have it, when salt and water (NaCl and H2O for you studious types), are in a saturated solution at equilibrium, the resultant humidity is 75%. This gives a fantastic reference point to calibrate our hygrometer. There is an easy way to determine if your hygrometer is accurate.