Integrating Farm chickens and hatchery chicks

HalfMileLaneChickenMama

In the Brooder
May 18, 2023
Help! I’m brand new to chickens so please be kind. :)

I have a couple of 10 week old pullets that I got from a local farmer when they were chicks. Just recently he had more available, 1 ended up being an 18 week Buff Orpington and 1 he says is a 6 week Black Copper Maran but she looks younger to me. I was expecting the Maran to be big enough to go in with the other birds but she is not. I also had no clue about quarantining until after I had already put the new birds in. They are, however all from the same farm.

I also have Hatchery chicks coming tomorrow. I’m not sure where to put the poor 6 week chick. She is too small to go with the big girls, they keep picking at her so I brought her back in the house in the brooder. However, I think she’ll be too big to go in with the new chicks when they come, and I am now worried about spreading potential disease to the new chicks.

Hi, welcome to the forum from Louisiana, glad you joined,

First let's talk about quarantine associated with disease or parasites. When you go to school or work you could catch a disease if someone there has one. A lot of the time they don't have a disease but they certainly could. If you put two chickens together to live, if one has a disease the other is likely to catch it. Almost certain to, if one has a disease. Not all do. Same thing applies to parasites. And even if a human has a disease or parasite it rarely kills you. If you catch something it is usually more of an inconvenience that can be treated.