Integrating mixed flock

Adelaar

In the Brooder
Jul 4, 2023
This is my first year raising chickens and ended up getting a variety of chicks staggered throughout the spring. I’m debating on how/if to start mixing them.

My oldest group is 6 full size pullets about 18wks old now with variety of breeds (australorp, Easter egger, sapphire gem, 2 RIR, possible leghorn). Then I got 3 bantam barnyard mixes, all seem to be pullets so far, who are now about 12-13wks old. Then I got 3 lavenders who are 9-10wks old… 1 lavender Orpington who ended up as a cockerel with 2 lavender ameraucanas that ended up as 1 cockerel and 1 pullet (before you ask, the ameraucanas both have dark slate legs and full beard/muffs and are from a local breeder, not hatchery stock, but obviously no eggs yet to be sure it’s blue egg).

The lavender pullet was starting to get harassed by the 2 cockerels so I separated her and moved her in with the bantam pullets who at the time were similar size but obviously she has continued to outgrow them since then. So far though, the 3 bantams and 1 lavender pullet are still getting along well though.

Right now, I have the older pullets in a coop (8’x8’ where chickens have the lower level and made a separated second story within the coop for guineas to roost in rafters) with a fully enclosed 10’x20’ chicken run. The bantams and lavender pullet are in a grow out coop (commercial 25 sqft coop with attached run) directly adjacent to big chicken run. The cockerels are still in brooder while I’m trying to decide how/when to arrange everybody.