Integrating young with old

Royal Ridge Ranch

In the Brooder
Feb 9, 2021
We have 12 "babies" from one of our hens that are 8 weeks old, and three chicks that we purchased that are now 5 weeks old. What is the best way to introduce them to the rest of the flock? We have blocked off an area in the back of the coop where they are currently being housed. We would like to introduce the four roosters first, and keep the rest segregated for a few more weeks. What type of food can I give the integrated chicks that is safe for all!. Currently we have the older ones on layer pellets and the younger ones on medicated chick food.

Feed everyone whatever the youngest birds are eating.

Were the older chicks raised by a hen? If yes, is she still mothering them? It'd be best to let the hen handle integration of that batch if they were indeed raised by one.

I have no experience integrating different groups of chicks simultaneously into a flock, but pretty sure anyone else who pipes in will ask for more specifics about your flock (total number of birds and ages) as well as specifics about your set up, including coop and run (if using) size. Photos of set up may be helpful.

Feed everyone whatever the youngest birds are eating.

Were the older chicks raised by a hen? If yes, is she still mothering them? It'd be best to let the hen handle integration of that batch if they were indeed raised by one.

I have no experience integrating different groups of chicks simultaneously into a flock, but pretty sure anyone else who pipes in will ask for more specifics about your flock (total number of birds and ages) as well as specifics about your set up, including coop and run (if using) size. Photos of set up may be helpful.