Intro with chicken pics

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by tiki chiki, Oct 21, 2015.

1. tiki chiki

tiki chiki Out Of The Brooder

Oct 21, 2015
    Hi!! I'm new to chickens (as of this Feb) but love it so far! We have a flock of 6:

Penguin- our outgoing, silly but oh so untough black silkie roo
    Mugatu- cutest, lovable, talkative and hugable white silkie hen, can't say enough great things about her!
    Agnes- speckled sussex hen- #1 huntress award, she's the most feral in that she would definitely survive in the wild
    Stella- "big hen on campus" cuckoo marans, benevolent head hen/major glutton, always comes running
    Artemis- super-friendly, super adorable Ameraucana hen, also always comes running but lowest on the "big hen" pecking order (she's in the front in the 1st pic- don't have a good head shot of her that I can find easily)
    Dottie- super large and talkative (but most skiddish) black australorp hen, heart of gold and so pretty but not very outgoing with people
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

We are in New Jersey and try to free range as best we can but we have a lot of predators out here including a hawk nest in the front yard, other hawks (red tails) overhead that have come down, eagles nearby, foxes and raccoons galore, occasional coyotes.

We also keep bees and have a big garden (and beginning of a small orchard).

We are in it for the fun of the chickens and for the eggs (mainly personal consumption and gifting to friends)

I'm considering expanding the flock because I love it! but we'll see :)

Anyway Hello and LOVE THIS SITE!

2. Frindizzle

Frindizzle Guitar Girl <3 Premium Member

Welcome to BYC! [​IMG] I love the flock - great breeds with great names!

3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

4. NickyKnack

NickyKnack Love is Silkie soft!

Hello!
    [​IMG]