Intro...

JenBaker

In the Brooder
Apr 7, 2020
(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
Yes, I'm brand new to a life with chickens.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
None. I need to learn a few things and then build a coop.

(3) What breeds do you have?
I'm looking to see what type I might want. My newbie desire is to have different color eggs, find the breed (if this is a thing) that will be fine around children, and to discover if I HAVE to have a rooster to keep the hens safe. (I would prefer not to hear one.)

(4) What are your favorite aspects of raising backyard chickens?
I can't wait to take care of them and watch their different personalities. And, they are an outside animal, which is a plus for me.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
I love to hand-stamp cards for that ole tradition of communicating by snail mail! LOL

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
I am a wife to a former Marine, and mother to 4 kids ranging in age from 7 years old to 14 years old (3 boys, 1 girl). I am a high school teacher at a private Christian school where my kids attend. We have tried our hand at owning a dog, but we did not have the time to put into training. So, we found her a lovely forever home. And, now, we have an outside "ferrel" cat that we feed and give water to.

(7) Bonus: How did you find BYC, how long have you known about BYC, and what made you finally join our awesome community?
I saw a post on FB about chicken coops. And that led me down a trail to your site. Glad to be here!

Hello, and welcome to BYC. Most roosters only serve as a warning system to the flock and will be the first to save themselves - for a first flock you do not need a rooster.