Is it eggbound, or broody?

amamaofmany

Songster
11 Years
Oct 22, 2008
west virginia
Have a lovely little white Jap named Sachi. She spent the whole day in the nest box, and was still in there this evening when my daughter went to check on her.

My 9 year old LOVES the birds like a little mother hen herself, and was worried to death that Sachi had an egg stuck inside.

I am still rather new to chickens, this being our first year, but did observe the following:

Sachi puffed up and growled at me and pecked my hand when I tried to pick her up. She was also sitting on a very big blue plastic Easter egg, which she meticulously kept under her after I put her back in the nest after looking her over. This is well after dark when everyone else is looking droopy and limp, and she's been in this nest all day. My first thought is BROODY.

I tried to feel around her undersides. I can't feel any kind of lump or hardness, like a stuck egg around her pelvic bones or vent, although I am pretty new at this and she is so tiny!

She also does not appear to be straining, although she rarely even pants when laying. She often just sits for a bit, and when she's up there's a little egg and at present she is the only bantam we have that is laying. Wasn't sure if that made any difference, though.

Sachi has probably only been laying about 3 weeks total; she was a Late-April chick. I wasn't sure if Japs (or any bantam) went broody so fast?

Any thoughts or advice?

The puffy, growly behavior is broody! My first experience with a broody came after she had been laying only 4 weeks. Some birds just want to be a mommy. Now the question is, do you want her to be broody?

The puffy, growly behavior is broody! My first experience with a broody came after she had been laying only 4 weeks. Some birds just want to be a mommy.

I thought so! At least my little girl will be able to go to sleep now (it is after midnight here - and she's been worried about Sachi all evening! Poor thing.)