Is my incubator faulty or my eggs ? Need help

aseel lover

Chirping
Mar 26, 2018
I am at day 8 and only two eggs out of 10 show veins 3 eggs show blood rings and other show nothing..i am soo sad because they are eggs of my two late hens who died from new castle disease..i am completely new in this.what causes these blood rings and what causes faulty hatching.please guide me

I am using homemade incubator humidity between 40 and 50 and temperature between 37.5 and 38

The likely cause of early quitters, resulting in blood rings, is too high of heat. The humidity doesn't effect development (unless extreme dry or wet) but I find 30-35% RH is best to grow the air cell to proper size before hatching. 70% RH during hatch.

You made this incubator yourself. Does it have a fan? Where are you taking the air temperature and where are the eggs? By that I mean height in incubator- is your reading lower, higher or level with the eggs? Are you turning the eggs several times a day?

Dialing in an incubator for best hatch rates takes a few tries. Getting to know the equipment and where best to take readings. Where the hot and cold spots are in that given incubator and how far off your thermometer is.

I calibrate thermometers with oral thermometers. Oral thermometers are inexpensive yet the most accurate tool you have until spending big money on lab quality.

You've got some good advice above, but I'll add the other thing I thought of.
Does your thermometer have a record of the hottest temperature in the past 24hr or an alarm if the temperature gets too high? I found when I was dimmer switching my DIY incubator, over the course of the day I'd have to adjust it over and over. One of those times was right in the middle of the night; with the house closed up, less drafts meant the incubator stayed warmer. By morning the house cooled down and I'd have to turn it back up. It would have been easy to miss if my thermometer hadn't had an alarm.