Is my "Rooster" trying to protect the flock? will it be a problem in the future? -New to BYC

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by MyHappyHens, Aug 14, 2013.

1. MyHappyHens

MyHappyHens New Egg

Aug 14, 2013
    Hello, I am new to BYC. I have 4 Orpingtons and 2 silver laced wyandottes. I believe one is a rooster, but I am not quite sure. They are about 18 to 19 weeks. My rooster has been running up to me. He doesn't peck me but he gets really close to me. The other two don't even look at me. My two girls walk around together but my rooster lingers around away from them but still stays close. Today, I walked out the door and he almost bumped into me! But then he ran away back to the other two. Is he trying to protect his flock? And in the future do you think he might be aggressive towards me? I have hand raised them and every day I give them fruits and veggies so maybe he is thinking I have food? I'm just worried because the other two don't even come near me most of the time. Thank you!

The picture on the left is the rooster (I think) that I am concerned about. The one on the right is another chicken that I am not sure about gender-wise. Thank you for the replies!

[​IMG] [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 14, 2013
  2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    [​IMG] He may be starting to develop aggressive behavior. Without actually seeing what he is doing, I can't make that judgement. If he starts flaring hackles, side stepping, wing dancing, pecking at the ground or darting towards you he is escalating into aggressive behavior. There are several threads on site about dealing with such behavior. It's best to nip it in the bud. Good luck with him.

3. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    Post a picture of the bird in question and we can tell you if it's male or female. At this age, it should be pretty apparent.