Is poultry netting strong enough?

Huskerchickens

Chirping
8 Years
May 24, 2011
Hopefully I can set the stage well enough here...I'm brand new to keeping chickens and built a A fram coop with a fully enclosed section and open-air run part. The outdoor part is 5' long with 2x4's making up the triangles on the ends and 2x2's in the middle for support. Then I just covered the front and sides with basic poultry netting and nailed it down with U-nails. Now I'm starting to wonder if that stuff is strong enough for the long haul. I haven't seen any evidence of foxes or raccoons trying to get in yet, but boar coons can be pretty heavy. I have some leftover netting and I'm thinking about adding a second layer, but here's my questions:

- Do people find basic poultry netting/chicken wire is strong enough?
- If I'm going to add a second layer should I just use poultry netting, or go up to a stronger fencing material like 2x4 welded wire?
- Do I need to reinforce my frame so I don't have a 2.5' unsupported section of wire?

Thanks in advance for eveyone's help!

In my opinion, it's not strong enough, partly because the openings are so large on 1" hex. Coons can rip through that with little trouble. Hardware cloth in 1/2" openings is stronger. My fencing is 2x4 welded wire, some backed with poultry netting, some with hardware cloth, depending on location and function. Coons can pull a chicken through a 1" opening and eat it one bite at a time, not a pleasant thought.

Quote:
I agree that poultry netting/chicken wire is not heavy enough to prevent predation. Agree with Speckled hen that 1/2" hardware cloth is strong enough.

Does this chicken look safe to you? It did to me, I thought it was totally safe!!!

83761_036.jpg