Is something wrong with my coop ramps??

Michie

Chirping
9 Years
Sep 28, 2010
San Antonio
HI, I am new to having chickens and we just built what we feel is a great 2 story coop! The 4 chickens love it so far, but they will not go all the way to the top box and thats where we put 2 nesting boxes! They are still to young to lay, and we put traction bars on the ramps, and they walk down just fine when I stick them in there so I dont see what the problem is???? Is there a flaw that anyone can see that would keep them from laying in the top boxes?? They are high, and dark and nice and cozy!!(with a fake eggs in them lol) I think I did everything else right except we do need to add more ventilation in the top and bottom, and get a hanging waterer! The 2 barred rocks perch, and the RIR, & buff orpington do not?? Do they all need to perch at night? Thanks for your help in advance!!! I LOVE this site!!
big_smile.png

There are traction bars on the top ramp, they just arent on yet in this pic!
68748_bigcoop-finished.jpg

This is a pic of the 2 floors b 4 we bolted down the perchs and closed it all in, but in the top is the nesting boxes!
68748_bigcoop-floornestbox.jpg

That's really not that high. When they are a little bigger and get closer to laying they will just jump up in there without the need for a ramp.

You may have to teach them to perch at night. Just put them up there at dusk until they get the hang of it. I prefer not to leave them on the damp ground.

Last edited by a moderator:
You don't indicate how old your chickens are, but as MAC said, they'll start getting interested closer to laying time. Mine didn't give the nest boxes a second look until they started laying. Also...question about the roosts..are the 2X4 on the 1st floor? They appear nailed directly to the sides of the coop which wouldn't give much room for them to roost. The 2X4 on the upper floors look like there adequate space in front and behind for roosting.