Is straw ok for bottom of chicken run?

slfiggins

In the Brooder
9 Years
May 21, 2010
I have a 6'x10' chicken run. When I put my chickens out there back in April is was full of grass. Now there is no grass, just dirt. When it rains it fills with muddy water. Plus, it is starting to smell with the build up of manure. Wondering if it would be ok to lay down a thick layer of straw on the ground. I know they love pecking the ground but I feel like something needs to be done.

I am a newbie so any suggestions would be appreciated!
Thanks.
Sara
http://learningthefrugallife.blogspot.com/

I tried that and it was great at first but eventually it also turns to muck and yuk and is worse than just the mud which dries out better.

I decided to dig my runs out and replace the top 8-12" with sand. It was awful trying to get the straw up and I don't recommend it.

I love the sand and it was not expensive. I bought 16 yards (?) of it through the sand and gravel pit.

The chickens stay much drier and cleaner and I only have to rake it out when the feathers and poop build up and that will depend on how many you have in each run.

that's exactly what I do. And when it gets dirty I scoop it up and put it around my trees/plants.
smile.png
And it's free! (well if you get it from your yard)

My run is gravel and earth topped with a nice layer of fine wood chips. When it gets a bit poopy I rake it over and put more wood chips on top. Seems to work pretty well. I reckon I'll probably have to dig it out totally and replace it all after a year or so but it's fairly clean just now after six months.

Straw gets slimy when wet and it's difficult to clean out. Also it can look clean and dry on top but be gross and mouldy underneath. I use it in my nesting boxes (on top of wood shavings) but not for anything else...