Is this a good selection

Traw

In the Brooder
Oct 26, 2015
Hi
I am new to the BYC, we will be moving to Bracey VA in the next 2 months. My thoughts are these

1) Looking good egg layers
2) A nice mix breeds for plumage and egg color
3) Will purchase pullets for the first year.

My list so far

Jersey Giants, Black Australops, RIR, Barred Rock, Easter Eggers, Black sex links, White Leghorns, Buff Orpington, Cuckoo Moran. light sussex

I am thinking 2 or 3 of each. if we get two of a few breeds I would make the 25-30 flock with nice recommended bantams.

Question

1) Are these chickens compatible with each other ?
2) Are they all classed as egg layers. ?
3) What would you add or take away.
4) Where to buy such a mixed bag.

many thanks

First
welcome-byc.gif

You have a nice assortment for a colorful flock. They are all dual purpose birds. The white leghorn is a little short on the second purpose. Not much good for meat afterwards, but THE BEST EGG MACHINES WORLDWIDE.. The Jersey giants....... Well If you are planning to get bantams as well, You may have a David and Goliath showdowns. I'm not sure David will win. My suggestion is to start small and add as you gain more knowledge and experience. Don't over do things in the beginning. A good place to get these is at your local feed store in the spring time. If you get an assorted mix from a hatchery, you need to get a pretty good number. Have all things prepared ahead of time before you get your chickens,, Coop being #1