Is This Frostbite Or Fowl Pox?? Please Help! I'm Very New To This! Lol

chimbica88

Chirping
8 Years
Feb 17, 2011
NEED HELP! IS THIS FROSTBITE OR FOWLPOX???? PICTURES!

hello everyone! i am so excited i found this forum! so here it goes! i have 4 roosters, and all of them started having these black spots on their combs and wattles, so after reading over 1000 posts on frostbite and fowlpox, i'm not any closer to finding an answer. My roos live inside for this harsh winter , every night is below freezing and way too much snow outside, so their coop in insulated and have 3 heat lamps, it extends to other coops and those have windows for sun and has fans for ventilation, so they are happy otherwise, their roosting poles allow them to cover their feet, so not sure if its frostbite or fowlpox. Yesterday i built a little infirmary in my basement for them so i can keep it warm and make sure no one picks at them while they heal, i wasn't able to post PICTURES of them here on BYC, BUT PLEASE visit my site and go under 'PHOTO GALLERY' TO SEE THEM!!
IF ANYONE could please take a look for me, need some help, very new to the chicken world! but loving every minute of it, i dont want to loose any one of them because i didn't give them proper medications. THANKS!!!!

WWW.CHIMBICA.WEEBLY.COM

anyone??? i dont want this stuff to spread??
sad.png
thanks!

Hi! You may want to give a bit more information first. Your location (Brazil, yes?), how many birds you have in those coops, what they're insulated with and how much ventilation you have would be good for starters. Has there been a fowl pox epidemic in your area recently? Do your birds come in contact with feral chickens that may carry fowl pox?