1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by schmoo, Jul 10, 2007.

1. schmoo

schmoo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2007
    West MI.
    This is my first time raising chickens so bear with me if this is a dumb question. Okay my 26 chickens are 9 weeks and very healthy. There is no evidence of picking and none of them are "missing" feathers anywhere thats evident.

In just the past few weeks (its been HOT here as everywhere) I've noticed ALOT of feathers on the floor of the coop. Are they just shedding some? Is this normal? Is it because they are hot or do they just lose feathers naturally? Thanks for any help.

2. Frozen Feathers

Frozen Feathers Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2007
    Maine
    Not a dumb question. [​IMG] Chickens will lose feathers, and grow in new ones, especially when they are young. They are just getting in more of their adult feathers and loosing their adolescent ones. I'd say as long as you don't see any picking and everyone is healthy and happy, nothing to worry about. [​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2007
  3. mlheran

mlheran Chillin' With My Peeps

Yep, it should be normal. After they lose their fuzz they get "baby" feathers, and then those are replaced by bigger feathers. They'll also start looking more like what they're supposed to, according to breed. By the time my girls went out in their coop their pen looked like a featherduster had exploded. [​IMG]

4. schmoo

schmoo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2007
    West MI.
    Thank you very much! Now I can stop worrying. I kept thinking why are they SO many feathers out here?! I actually counted them the other day thinking one may have been eaten or something. [​IMG]

5. justusnak

justusnak Flock Mistress