Just some questions regarding chickens

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Janrhy, Mar 27, 2009.

1. Janrhy

Janrhy Out Of The Brooder

Mar 11, 2009
    PA
    Hello, I am new to having chickens. We got them as peeps (approx 3 days old) the end of October. We still have yet to see an egg, but assuming by all the posts I have read, it should be any day. What do you all think?

I have a few questions and am hoping for some answers, this will probably be easy for most of you to answer since alot of you are alot more experienced.

1 - We have 16 chickens total, 1 rooster (all RIR's). We let them free range all day long, then lock them up when they go in the coop at night. Since we have started this routine, approx a month to a month and a half ago, I have noticed that 10 of them are always out roaming and there are 6 that never leave the coop. I was wondering if there is any rhyme or reason to why this is.

2 - I have heard that the rooster usually picks a few favorite hens to mate with, but it seems our (King as we call him), doesn't care who he is with, as long as she sits still long enough. Is this normal? I also notice he gets at them when they are out roaming, so maybe he has 9 hens that he prefers (since 6 of them are always inside).

3 - Along with #2 above, when he (I am not sure how to put it) "fertilizes" a hen, does it only take a second, or is he still learning? It seems when he gets on one, it is over just as fast as it started. Maybe he needs a bit more practice???

4 - I think this is my last question... Some of my hens are missing their nails (claws). I thought it may have happened through the winter (frostbite), but we have been told that since they sit on their feet, it shouldnt have been an issue. I also noticed that some of the ones that never leave the coop have these nails missing. Maybe they can't feel right to scratch in the outside? I have a picture of this if anyone wants to see.