Khaki Campbell new mother - what do I do with the eggs?

wwwamericana

Hatching
7 Years
Oct 24, 2012
Hi everyone! I am new to duck raising and need some assistance. We got a pair of KC ducklings this spring when they were 3 days old. Just by chance they turned out to be a drake (Parsley) and a hen (Sage). Could not believe how fast they grew - inches each day. Over Labor Day, Sage laid her first egg. She has laid an egg a day, missing only 4 days since then. I picked up the first 13 eggs and got rid of them. Then she laid 15 more which I left in the nest until last week thinking she might set on them. She sits on the nest only at night to lay a new egg and then Parsley sits on it a bit but once they are let out in the morning, they stay out all day. She seems to have no desire to set on her eggs. I finally picked up all 15 eggs and brought them in the house to either trash or incubate. She has continued to lay an egg a day which I now promptly pick up each morning and refrigerate so we can eat them.

Here's my questions: I thought at first she would lay her clutch and then set on it but after 28 eggs that doesn't seem the case. How long after gathering eggs can you keep eggs before you decide to eat or incubate them?

Is there anything I can do to encourage her to set on her nest or is she just a bad mother and never will have the urge to raise a family?

Parsley and Sage mate EVERY morning the minute they hit their pool - does that mean that all her eggs will most likely be fertile?

Will she continue to lay throughout the winter? Should I leave a few eggs in her nest (marking them of course) to encourage her to set?

I do not own an incubator and doubt that I would tackle hatching any eggs till Spring.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

jp

Welcome to BYC!!!!!!!

Sounds like you have a great layer there :)