Let's Talk HORSES!

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by lovetopaint, Dec 2, 2014.

1. lovetopaint

lovetopaint Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm assuming that horses count as 'random ramblings...'
    So let's talk horses, people!
    I'll start.
    I've been riding for about 6 years now, and I'll be getting *a* horse soon. I don't know who, what, when, where, why or how, but I am. [​IMG]
    And now I'm looking at the prices of stuff....wow. NO I AM NOT PAYING $10,000 FOR A NEW SADDLE--a used one will do fine. At least I have the barn/pastureland on our property already!!
    And now my friend might be having her horse come to my place too, so we'll have multiplying horses!!

I'm just wondering if anyone has advice for me?! Because I think that I have a list of everything I'll need....but I want to be sure.
    Now I just have to wait for the perfect horse...
    Anyone else here like horses?
    Anyone else here need riding advice?

2. petrel

petrel Chats with Chickens

It is good to have a pasture management plan in place. Make arrangements, if you haven't already, to be able to rotate your horse(s) on and off of different pastures. Be prepared to add lime, fertilizer, and seed if necessary to maintain a healthy pasture. Be sure you have a good manure and bedding plan in place. Many new horse owners encounter difficulties when it comes to dealing with this issue. Finding a good equine vet with references who won't bankrupt you can be a challenge in some areas. Unless you have bottomless pockets and boundless patience, resist the urge to take in problem or elderly horses. Always have a potential new horse vetted before agreeing to a purchase. Best of Luck!

1 person likes this.
  3. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi there!