Letting chicken meat sit!

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by blackvelvet, Mar 15, 2011.

1. blackvelvet

blackvelvet In the Brooder

Feb 4, 2011
    East Tennessee
    tomorrow I am butchering some chickens. I am curious about how to let them sit. Do I put them in the bag and just let them sit in the fridge for 24 hours then freeze them or what?

2. bigredfeather

bigredfeather Songster

Oct 1, 2008
    Yorkshire, Ohio
    I let mine rest in the fridge for 3-4 days.

3. blackvelvet

blackvelvet In the Brooder

Feb 4, 2011
    East Tennessee
    Do i let them sit in salt water, or just put them in there. Sorry this is my first time! [​IMG]

4. SpringChickens

SpringChickens Songster

Feb 1, 2009
    Lexington, KY
    I always put mine in a cooler of salt water (iced, of course) for at least 24 hours. The brine helps tenderize the bird.

5. bigredfeather

bigredfeather Songster

Oct 1, 2008
    Yorkshire, Ohio
    Quote:I do not brine(salt water) mine. I'm sure it does tenderize the meat some and draw out some of the blood, but we have gotten used to and prefer the texture of our broilers.

6. gmendoza

gmendoza Songster

Mar 23, 2010
    Rock Hill,SC
    3-7 days in the fridge is good enough to make sure your meat is tender.Especially if its an older chicken or whatever meat. [​IMG]

7. terri9630

terri9630 Songster

Mar 22, 2009
    New Mexico
    If you don't have room to keep all the chickens in the frig at once you can freeze and then take out a few days before you cook it. They can rest before or after freezing. I usually take a chicken out on Monday and cook on Friday or Sat.

8. Salt and Light

Salt and Light Songster

May 20, 2008
    Osteen, FL
    Personally, I don't think chicken benefits from "aging" like red meat. Thus, all we do is overnight in fridge while vacuum sealed, then into the freezer the next morning.

9. booker81

booker81 Redneck Tech Girl

Apr 18, 2010
    Mid-MI