LG Bator, digital hygrometer, but still nervous! -updated on Day 19!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by rockstarwife, Feb 24, 2009.

1. rockstarwife

rockstarwife New Egg

Feb 24, 2009
    You all seem like nice advice-givers... I'm a pre-K teacher... this is my 4th year of attempting a hatch! Any advice would be appreciated as I have lots of excited students and don't want to disappoint!
    Here's my story:
    1st year: rented a bator and turner. Had some trouble with temp consistency, but had 3 out of 12 hatch - several chicks made it to the end but died in their shells - I think I opened the bator too much ... oopsie, newbie mistake!
    2nd year: rented a bator - the turner broke halfway through, and had to turn manually. 2 out of 12 hatch.
    3rd year: got a new LG still air bator and turner! No problems I was aware of, but 1 hatched then died the next day, 2 more had pipped and got stuck facedown! Tried again with another 12, this time water kept evaporating quickly it seemed... 3 out of 12 hatch... 5 more looked to be developed when candled...but not even pipped.

This year - using the 1yr old LG bator and turner. Got 11 eggs, mostly Rhode Island Reds and something starting with an A... also one "Blue". Bought a cheapie digital thermometer and hygrometer - I salt-tested the hygrometer and its pretty perfect. I put the eggs in at 10:30am on Wednesday, so today was day 6, right? The temp is at 99.5, however, when I came in on Sunday, the temp was down to 96!! (when I left school on Friday, it had been 99.5). Humidity has been pretty consistently at 60-65%, I've only had to refill the water 2ce. If I take one of the plugs out, the humidity goes way down, and someone recommended that I leave them in until day 18.

So here's my questions:
    1. When should I candle them? Last year I did it 2-3 times, I think if I only candle them once, it might be better for them temp-wise, right? When is the best time?