Limping, lethargic chicken

jaybanana

Chirping
7 Years
Dec 20, 2012
Down Under
I'm new to chickens, so please bear with me!

I have a chicken, no idea of age or breed, who I noticed yesterday was limping and leaning when trying to walk. I isolated her, but there was no improvement by night. I also noticed she was infested with mites (orangey/red colour, also some black around/on her comb). Her legs also looked a bit like she had scaly leg mites, but it's hard for me to tell!

Today I treated her (and the rest of the flock) with frontline, oil on the legs, and piperazine, although I'm not sure how much she has actually drunk. I also totally cleaned and scrubbed the entire pen.

Her comb has flopped slightly to one side. She ate some rickets (I got the recipe here http://forum.backyardpoultry.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7984925&start=0 ), but still hardly moves. She just lays in the one spot. I tried to feel around her vent in case she was egg bound, but I have no idea what I'm actually feeling for! I also checked for bumble foot, but seems fine. Her eyes are fine and alert, breathing seems fine, no noticeable snot or anything. She has had diarrohea (dirty feathers), but I checked the poop guide and it seems normal. None of the other chickens are sick. She hasnt laid in 2 days, but the people who gave us the chickens said they are getting a bit older and not all of them lay everyday anyway.

Could her symptoms just have been because of the parasites? Or am I'm looking at something more severe? I can't afford vet fees.

Is there anything else I can do? It's almost midnight now, so it's a bit hard to do much, but I'm so worried I'll wake up tomorrow and she will be dead. :(

If you think it might be egg related, look at these:

When I think mine might have an egg issue, I give them Calcium and D. This is exactly what I give them every other day.

If she were mine I would:

• Bring inside right away.