Lots of Duck Questions

kissofcrimson

Chirping
Jan 17, 2016
Fayetteville, North Carolina
I'm relatively new to ducks (was given 7 and well, bought a bunch more) and have some questions I can't seem to find on google, so I need some clarification. I was under the impression that one of the Muscovies was magpie colored but is not growing the caruncles on its beak like the other ones. This particular Muscovy is also bigger, so I had assumed it was a male and while assuming thought males grew theirs faster then females. He/she also hangs out more with the Appleyards then the Muscovies.

I was also wondering how do you tell the sex of ducks as they get bigger? I've read the males grow a prominent curled feather at the base of thier tail but none of my ducks have developed anything like that. Also the biggest Appleyard is the noisiest, one that I had originally thought was a boy until she stayed quaking. All the ducks besides her still have thier duckling voice with the Muscovies mostly just hissing.

So right now I only know one is a female lol All 3 of the Pekin and Appleyard hatched at the same time. The Muscovies were a different hatch I bought from someone and are slightly younger.

Also if any one the Appleyards are drakes when do they get a green head?

Thanks for any input. I'm sure there's more questions but can't think of them all. Here's some pictures. (Magpie is the bigger black and white)

Your bigger black and white is definitely not a Muscovy... maybe it's a Magpie duck? I'm not too familiar with those though...

Sex feathers (the drake curl and green heads) won't come in until their adult molt, think that's at roughly 3-4 months old... voice sexing is best way for you to tell gender once they grow out of the baby peeps... quacks-girl, raspy whaaap-whaaap-whaaap-boy...

Except the 'Scovies... compare their legs... wider stance and thicker legs indicates boy and slimmer legs with more centered stance indicates girl...