1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Lots of questions about the run and coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by uc4tuna, Mar 11, 2012.

1. uc4tuna

uc4tuna Out Of The Brooder

Mar 11, 2012
    Daly City, Ca
    Newbie here with lots of questions! I've been wanting chickens for a couple years and I'm finally ready to get some! I've been reading the forums for awhile but hoping to get some advice from you veteran chicken keepers -

1. I just bought a used Eglu Cube. It's pretty dusty but in good shape. The previous owner reports no problems with his chickens (and the ones I could see looked healthy). Would you clean it with a bleach solution, or would good old soap & water & elbow grease be ok?

2. We live in a suburb of San Francisco, with neighbors who are pretty close by but friendly. I have a long (9 feet) run attached to the coop, which we will place in the back of the yard (as far away from the neighbors as possible). However, I am hoping to make a separate run area in our side yard by placing some poultry netting from our roof to the fence (an area of about 4 feet x 20 feet) for the chickens to run around during the day, and a gait to keep them from the rest of the yard. Does this sound secure enough during the day? We have raccoons, possums, hawks, and cats in our neighborhood.

3. Any local sources/feed stores/etc in the San Francisco Bay Area for day-old chicks?

4. Any particular breeds you recommend? We want friendly, easy-to-socialize egg-producers...My husband would like pretty chickens, but I'm convincing him that easy hearty chickens are better. =)

Thanks!

2. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers