Lovin' being a chicken "mom"

DesertChic

Crowing
5 Years
Nov 13, 2014
Southern Arizona
Hello Everyone!

I've been gleaning information from the multitude of posts here in preparation for starting my adventure into the world of raising chickens, and now that I have my chicks I just want to say thanks to all of you for supplying so much invaluable information. I'm a complete newbie to the chicken-keeping world, and though my husband had experience as a child, his family's approach was much different than what I want to pursue. I'm raising my new feathered friends primarily for eggs, then pets, then meat, and look forward to enjoying my evolving relationship with these wonderful creatures.

Right now I'm enjoying three breeds of chicken for my starters:

- My four Australorps are 4-5 weeks old and last night was the first night I left them in the coop all night after spending several days acclimating them to being outdoors for increasingly extensive periods of time. I'm thrill to say that after a somewhat sleepless night, I found them happy, active, and affectionate when I visited them this morning. Luckily our temperatures are still quite mild, in the upper 70s and lower 80s in the daytime and mid-50s in the night, so there was no need to worry about freezing temperatures or anything. All four have proven to be very friendly, intelligent, and wonderfully curious in very entertaining ways.

- In my brooder I have three Barred Rocks that are just over 1 week old. These little chicks are quickly becoming my favorites with their lively and friendly personalities. They come to me by name, snuggle affectionately, and seem positively fearless and yet still so very sweet.