Lurker from S. Louisiana

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Cajun_MikeR, Sep 14, 2017.

1. Cajun_MikeR

Cajun_MikeR Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 12, 2017
    Carencro, LA
    Hey everyone, after being a lurker for quite some time I finally decided to officially join because there were a few questions I saw that were some questions that I could help out with. I am by no means a chicken expert, but I enjoy the birds and like to experiment. Going off the question guide...

We've had chickens for a few years now (my wife has been a member here for a while, but doesn't post much), starting with 6 hatchery RIRs. Now, we're up to about 30 or so birds (getting ready to do some experimental cross breedings, not for fame or fortune but just as something to do). We've got RIR hens, 1 RIR roo, BR hens, BSL hens (our breedings), BJG/RIR hens (our breeding), 1 blue Cochin cockerel, 1 Buff Brahma cockerel, and 2 BC Marans (both cockerels). We found out about the site a few years ago while searching for information before getting our first birds (which we got for eggs at first, then we started raising out cockerels for slaughter).

I know a few of you like mutts (and lots of pictures), so as I'm playing around with some of the breedings I'll try to remember pics. The cross breedings are nothing serious, otherwise we'd clean house and start with better stock, but I'm going to work on an all around (good size at slaughter a younger slaughter age than what we have now, while retaining decent egg laying capability) and see what kind of colors/combs/etc pop out (I'm more of a function over fashion type).