Making your own Broilers????

Promiselandfarm

Songster
11 Years
May 24, 2008
Cumberland City, Tennessee
Like some others on here I would like to breed our own broilers. What crosses would you use? I would like to hatch out our own for various reasons. Suggestions? If this subject has already been discussed please proved me the link. ..Thanks

There are several people, including myself, wanting to experiment with various crosses to see what we get. I can't claim any expertise as yet, because I'm just beginning to get into this.

What I've read is that using a purebred Cornish roo (NOT one of the meat breed crosses, they won't breed true, if you can keep them alive long enough to breed, they're bred to grow really really fast and be eaten.) over various breeds of dual-purpose or heavy-breed hens can sometimes produce a pretty good table bird. Some of the candidates for hens that I'm looking at are Dorking, Delaware, Buckeye, and Brahma. I've tried Cornish hen/Brahma roo, that didn't work out very well, they grow WAAAAY too slow, (but very pretty and healthy, the pullets can stay and be layers, the roos are just getting old enough to be a nuisance, they're going to freezer camp in about another week) but I still want to try the other way around, C roo/B hen.

For those of us who would like to become more food independent, this seems like a reasonable course of action. The birds won't have the phenomenal growth of the hatchery meaties, but could very well prove to be healthier and more sustainable birds overall.

For those who don't mind buying all their chicks from a hatchery for all of their meat birds, it wouldn't be worth the bother.