many hens, one box

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by ruthiesue, May 4, 2009.

1. ruthiesue

ruthiesue Out Of The Brooder

Jul 31, 2008
    Three hens want to be in the same box, setting on their eggs. I have no idea whose egg is whose, or how old the eggs are. Two eggs have been broken and eaten. This seems like dysfunctional behavior to me. Any comments?

2. lisahaschickens

lisahaschickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2009
    Vancouver, WA
    I am still learning about all this myself, and my answer is only from reading, not from personal experience.

However, I believe this is common and normal for hens to all want to be in the same box. Do you want them to hatch eggs or not? If not, you need to take all the eggs away. If you do, you'll need to pick one hen, and move her and viable eggs to a separate place and allow her to hatch them. She'll need close food and water because she'll hardly want to get up to eat or drink while she's broody. And she needs to be separate from the others because the adults can and mostly likely will pick on and even kill the babies when they hatch.

As for the broken/eaten eggs - if they just broke by accident and they haven't really been eaten, then just clean it up and remove them. If they have truly been eaten, you'll need to figure out which chicken is eating eggs and probably get rid of her. I have read that once chickens start to eat eggs, there's almost nothing you can do to stop them...

3. CoopCrazy

CoopCrazy Brooder Boss

Mar 3, 2009
    Columbus,IN
    Totally normal my girls wait in line for the Best box in the house .. They are probably laying their eggs on top of eachother or pushing and thats how the eggs are getting broken.. BAd thing is now you have to worry about eggeaters..

4. countrybum

countrybum Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 15, 2008
    area pop. 96