Maran and???

SarahInAlaska

Songster
6 Years
Apr 2, 2013
I just got these two girls yesterday. I was told they are maran mixes that lay the deep dark eggs. Any idea what they might be mixed with?

And this poor girl has a bald spot on her neck from her previous flock pecking her clean.

Anybody got any ideas? The bald gal ended up getting a bad pecking injury do she's been inside healing up. We have her in a dog crate in the 75 degree garage with my chicks and silkie. Even with all the stress she actually laid an egg today in the kennel but its a rich cream color with dark red/brown spots on the shell. Not what I was expecting after being told they were laying a dark brown egg. So, what might they be mixed with and was I duped and not getting my lively dark eggs out of these girls? I'm still new to this and thought I knew enough about the breed but won't be surprised if I messed up.

with black marans and black coppers it can be hard to not get a different breed or to get a poor egg color line. some marans lay a lighter egg with the darker spots. I would wait a while and get a few eggs from them to see if they are truly marans. This is one reason I like the French line as they have the feathered shanks and thus can be told from a black sex link and other black breeds, just not a mix. Did you by chance ask to see some of the eggs before you got them? Which if they are that bad of a seller doesn't mean these hens laid them but you would at lest know that something did Good luck