Matte shell vs. Glossy shell

Quailerino

Flailing
Jun 20, 2020
Petaluma, CA
My Coop
My Coop
I'm a quail noob, and am raising the first generation of my flock. The lovely hens from Nabiki's hatchery started laying just over a week ago, and have proven to be very reliable layers. I've noticed that some of the hens always lay eggs with a somewhat shiny/glossy eggshell appearance (on the right, in the photo), and other hens always lay eggs with a somewhat matte or cloudy eggshell appearance (pictured on the left). There is no difference in the actual texture of the eggshell. The contents inside of a glossy-shelled egg looks exactly like the contents of the matte-shelled egg. They both have the same delicious flavor.

Does anyone know what causes these fascinating differences in egg appearance?

IMG_20200725_231840.jpg

No clue, but I'd be super interested in finding out. My hens are pretty consistent—the matte eggs seem to have a heavier "spatter coat" of white before the bloom goes on. You can tell the difference between a heavy bloom and pigment if you pop an egg in the fridge (the bloom usually shows cracking after refrigeration when viewed under magnification, at least on the eggs I've tested). I find washing the eggs, even gently, takes off both bloom and pigment.

IMG_2252.jpg

Edit: also thought (on chickens at least) the bloom makes eggs shiny, not dull