Meat Chick Problems

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by LauraSBale, Aug 4, 2008.

1. LauraSBale

LauraSBale Chillin' With My Peeps

HI Everyone
    I'm new to the forum

I had egg girls years ago and never had a problem.

my neighbor and I went in on 16 meat birds and 9 egg girls.
    we started them on the electrolyte powder w/ probotics, for 3 weeks

they are 5 weeks old now. they egg girls are doing great.

this is my first time with meat birds,. Well, we have lost 6 of the meat birds,

the first was 3 days after getting them.
    then a week later lost 2 more, and then lost another, and another, and just 2 days ago lost another one.

the was no signs of any thing, no pasting or breathing problems.

we moved them into the coop last Thursdays and they seem to be doing fine, except for the one that died 2 days ago.

though i have noticed with meat birds, that there poops are more watery, then the eggs girls, they were on the same feed, and when i went back to get more feed, they said the meat birds could go up the next feed, and i noticed it got worse, so i mixed 50- 50 of the started feed with the new feed, and some ground up corn meal and oat meal, that seemed to help some with there poops.

I don't want any more to die, so are we doing something wrong with the meat birds
    with there feed or something else
    it just wired because the eggs girls are doing great.

Thank you
    Laura

2. arlee453

arlee453 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2007
    near Charlotte NC
    Hmmmm....what are the temps where you are? If your meat birds are Cornish X (big white eating machines..) then they are especially succeptble to heat stroke and heart problems due to their enormous growth rate.

3. LauraSBale

were in Mich

temps have been in the high 70 low 80's

I had them in the growing box for 4 1/2 weeks. i did lamp heat, and keep the temps like they said to do.

4. Richard

Richard Out Of The Brooder

May 8, 2008
    Antioch IL