meat handling- help!

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by TeamChaos, Sep 14, 2010.

1. TeamChaos

TeamChaos Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 8, 2009
    We had eight surplus roos butchered today and this is our first time through so I'm new to everything- my husband had planned on cutting them up the way he wanted them frozen before he left for work, but called me later to let me know he didn't get around to it. The birds were still packed in ice and very cold, so I'm not worried about that part but all I did was rinse each bird inside and out and put it in a 2 gal. freezer bag in the 'fridge. I noticed some of the birds still had long stringy feathers attached to them (I didn't clean these, we paid some neighbors $1 a bird to do the whole thing). Will the meat be okay sitting in the fridge and then handled again before being frozen? Thanks for any advice!

2. misspennyloise

misspennyloise Out Of The Brooder

Jul 11, 2009
    northwest ohio
    [​IMG] Good Morning, I see nothing wrong with what happened to the chickens. I think it is a good idea to "rest/relax" the meat before you place it in a freezer. After my birds are processed I rinse them and re-clean the body and then place it in the refrigerator. So in my opinion, you have nothing to worry about...as long as the chickens weren't warm and then cooled and warmed and then cooled. Hope this makes sense to you. Also a clean work environment and hands are always safest. Enjoy after thoroughly cooking the chickens [​IMG]

3. KatyTheChickenLady

KatyTheChickenLady Bird of A Different Feather

Dec 20, 2008
    Boise, Idaho
    most people do just that; let them relax in frig for 2 or 3 days before freezing.

4. jaku

jaku Chillin' With My Peeps

That's perfectly fine. If I have time, I age mine for 24 hours in salted ice water, bag them, then age again another 24 hours in the fridge before freezing.

5. TeamChaos

TeamChaos Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 8, 2009