Mereks Disease and Vaccinations. Helpful comments about Mereks would be appreciated!

cassandralee

In the Brooder
7 Years
May 29, 2012
Stevensville MT
So I'm fairly new to chickens. I've had 8 for a year, and thought hey, why not have babies and grow my flock from my own chickens, because why not right? I was also curious if my seabright rooster was fertile or not.

Well it turns out he is fertile. two of my chickens hatched out 8 chicks a month ago. One was a great mother, the other one only liked two of her babies. So we got through that episode okay, by bringing in a foster mother, thats why I had two mothers taking care of them

After the chicks started to get their feathers I put them into their coop with a heat lamp, but with some time to run around a bit. I didn't think it could hurt them. The moms started fighting so I removed the moms finally, and let the chicks deal with their own pecking order.

As of 5 days ago, one of my chicks who is apparently a rooster, started walking funny. The next day, his back and front feet went in opposite directions of themselves, and he couldn't walk. I immediately took him inside in a cat carrier. We put him to sleep, yesterday and he was having a hard time breathing. I looked it up did some reasearch and FINALLY found out on youtube, it looked exactly like Mereks disease.

So here is my question. My first 8 chickens are 1 year old or so, and they were all vaccinated as chicks, I got them from a feed store. Will they be affected? I've read some sites say 80% of your flock will die no matter if they were vaccinated or not. Another site says only 5% will die if they were vaccinated. Will my older flock be affected? They are in separate coops than the chicks, but I know its highly spreadable.

Another question is, none of my other chicks have any symptoms at all of this. I just thought the moms would give them some immunity because they were vaccinated? Guess I was wrong!