1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

minimum chick purchase in New York State

Discussion in 'Local Chicken Laws & Ordinances (and how to change' started by Mcse4u, Apr 4, 2017.

  1. Mcse4u

    Mcse4u Just Hatched

    13
    11
    19
    Apr 2, 2017
    Apalachin, NY
    There is a law in NYS that you must purchase at least 6 chicks if they are under 8 weeks old. I assume this is to prevent people from giving one chick as a gift to a kid for Easter. However, I was really only planning to start my new backyard chicken hobby with 4 chicks. Does anyone know if there is a way to get the local Tractor Supply or Agway stores to sell me just 4 chicks, if I show them the receipts for the coop I just bought, and all the materials for a hen house?
    I was even thinking, heck, at only $4 each, I'll be happy to pay for 6 and only take 4. Think that would work?
     
  2. 0wen

    0wen Chillin' With My Peeps

    652
    82
    111
    Mar 25, 2016
    Southwest Virginia
    Some places will let you, others wont..

    I'd look for smaller hardware or feed stores and try. That law is in most, if not all states - but local 'True Value' Hardware stores here get chicks, and many will let you buy less than 6..
     
  3. moetrout

    moetrout Chillin' With My Peeps

    842
    32
    153
    May 5, 2010
    Milan, MI
    Find someone else that wants some and then you can buy what you need, like 8 chicks so you each have 4.
     

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by