Molting & Half a shell? Photos included

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by OrganicLoving, Feb 8, 2014.

1. OrganicLoving

OrganicLoving New Egg

Jan 8, 2014
    Hi all!

I'm a newbie owner of a month. I have two bantam hens- both less than 5 months. I think they have been molting because it is the middle of Summer in Australia, and I haven't seen any evidence of lice/mites. The black one was bare on her tummy but it has regrown (below). They are eating, drinking, and leaving droppings as per usual.

My eldest hen of the two also stopped laying eggs but today we found half a shell. I have checked her vent but can't see the remainder in there or in our garden. Any you have an explanations/advice? Should I be worried?

[​IMG][​IMG]

Thank you! [​IMG]

2. chooks4life

chooks4life Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2013
    Australia
    Egg eating, whether by your hens or by a predator, would be my guess. In this case, if you found the egg outside, I'd think a crow. That's typical of what they do, take the whole egg, break it in half, eat the contents, and drop the shells under the tree they ate in. Even if you found the egg inside the coop it could be a crow or another predator, or one or both of your hens. Sometimes something else broke the egg, whether having another egg dropped on it, or whatever, and the hens eat it and parts of the shell.

If they're less than 5 months it'd be a little precocious for them to be laying but certainly not unheard of. But chances are they're older than you were told. Certainly the moulting shouldn't show on the rest of their bodies until they're fully grown, by which I mean not just having hit puberty, but being physiologically true adults. Also, the bumblefoot and scaly leg on your hen's feet are not overly common on young birds. I did have one cockerel I got in with terrible scaly leg but generally it's something only adults show because it takes a while to progress to being visible.