Moving chickens in a pen to the garden

Beth2017

In the Brooder
6 Years
Jan 2, 2014
Southern Maryland
Hi All,

Newbie here! I'd like my 5 girls to have a chance to be in the garden for a few hours. Is there an easy way to move them from one place to another? Free ranging is not an option here. I have a pen that I'd like to use. How do I get them to walk in the pen to the garden?

Thanks,
Beth

The absolute easiest way is to buy some chicken wire, some U posts that are short, and make yourself a little path to the garden for them.

So in other words make a little road for them to travel down to get back and forth. They need access to their nestboxes too if your pen doesn't have one, so you can leave the doors open to your pen and the coop, with the fencing in between.

I am not sure what you mean by a garden. Do you mean the yard, or do you mean a vegetable garden? And how old are your birds.

If they are chicks, you can put them in the vegetable garden once it is fairly established, cause they are too little to scratch things up. One summer when I got some late chicks, I would carry them in a cardboard box to the fenced garden, they would hide out under the beans and eat baby grasshoppers, I just put the box on its side, and at dark, they would all be back in the box all huddled up, and I took them back to the garage.