Muscovy egg advice needed

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Farmer Maz, Feb 16, 2017.

1. Farmer Maz

Farmer Maz Out Of The Brooder

Feb 15, 2017
    Isle Of Man
    Hi I ordered 6 Muscovy eggs a few weeks back I am new to the whole incubating thing. And I thought they would be a good type to start with. A already have 3 blues. Love them very much. I'm on day 20 I have 5. All moving looking good. One was infertile.my incubator is a self Turner.with fan. I'm running it at 35.7 @60% I know they take between 35 and 37 days to hatch.iv been cooling and misting.. but they are not lay flat should they be? They are pointy down in the holders.If they should be flat can I move them and hand turn them from now on. I'm just so worried I don't want any to die. Any advice would be amazing thanks [​IMG]

2. FoodFreedomNow

FoodFreedomNow Chillin' With My Peeps

You're doing pretty well at 5 of 6 developing! [​IMG] I also raise Muscovies and hatch their eggs under broodies and in an incubator.

If you haven't already read this, it has a lot of helpful information: https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/incubating-and-hatching-muscovy-eggs. I don't use the autoturner on my incubator for Muscovy eggs - I prefer to hand turn them, so they start out on their sides and remain there throughout the incubation; since yours are already in the autoturner, you could leave them until lockdown and then remove the autoturner and place the eggs on their sides for hatching.

I mist and cool, too, and based on what I've observed when broodies incubate their eggs, I think it's very important to facilitate a successful hatch. Your humidity seems a bit high to me at this point in the incubation - I usually dry hatch at around 35-45% humidity and don't raise it to 65-70% humidity until lockdown, otherwise the ducklings can be "gooey" at hatch (see the article referenced above) or have difficulty hatching - and temperature in a forced-air incubator should be around 99.5oF (37.5oC).