Muscovy not laying

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by savingdogs, Feb 1, 2011.

1. savingdogs

savingdogs Chillin' With My Peeps

My two muscovy hens, both almost one year old, have not layed any eggs at all for about two months or more.

Is that normal for muscovy for the winter or should I be concerned? I stopped giving them layer pellets so that they would not get too much calcium.

This is my first year with muscovy. Is this normal?

We do live in a cold-winter climate and the coop is not heated or lighted. We do not have snow on the ground most of the time but we do get regular frosts. However one of them was laying in November and was actually broody for awhile, although she is not now.

Any ideas when they may start laying again or going broody? Is it individual or is there a typical pattern?

2. goosedragon

goosedragon Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2009
    Central NC