1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My baby eggs

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by TALKMYCHICKS, Aug 20, 2013.

1. TALKMYCHICKS

TALKMYCHICKS Out Of The Brooder

Aug 17, 2013
    I have 10 eggs in the incubater.... Today is day 18, eggs are moving a bit and a couple have some what look like chips in them, I have never done this before... can anybody tell me when the best time to stop turning them, Iv heard so many different things..... HELP !![​IMG]

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Now.
    Day 18 is normally when I pull them out of the turner.
    Sounds like the temp was a little high.
    Kick up the humidity NOW.

3. TALKMYCHICKS

Aug 17, 2013
    I filled the canals should I remove the 2nd plug, I have been hand turning them, so I will stop, how ever I did turn them this morning .

4. TALKMYCHICKS

Aug 17, 2013
    My temp has been at a steady 99.5... gosh I hope there ok ![​IMG]

5. ChickenCanoe

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    I'd open the plug cause the more they develop the more oxygen they need.
    In my experience, thermometers are notorious for inaccuracy.
    I believe most are only required to be within about 2 degrees.

6. Roxannemc

Roxannemc Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2012
    SE Missouri
    the CHIP is the star crack the beginning of hatch they may stay that way for many hours or hatch out in minutes depends on them but yes up humidity now to 65.Might need a ver wet rag to get it to 65.Unfold it as much as you can as SURFACE WATER is what cause humdity to rise not depth GOOD LUCK!!

OH and ...(
    Sit on hands and don't OPEN the Bator except in emergency situation A LONG time from now.