My chicken attacked me and I'm offended

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Leahmig44, Jan 15, 2016.

1. Leahmig44

Leahmig44 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 15, 2016
    This is my first time posting here, and I'm doing it because I'm really offended and I want to know if I did something to cause this.
    I have 4 pullets who are just coming of age for egg laying. They are red stars/sex links. They are usually the sweetest birds, none have ever showed an ounce of aggression towards me before. This evening I was going to close up the coop, it was already dark. By this time they're usually in there, but tonight it was raining and they were sitting under it instead. They were halfway out and I was picking them up one at a time and putting them in the coop. The last one was just a little further under, and when I reached towards her she grabbed my hand with her beak, jumped up, and stomped down on it with her dang talons! I could understand a slightly startled peck, but I don't know what I did to deserve such a vicious response. I have grabbed them from under there a million times, though never in the dark. Again, none have ever hurt me before, not even a little, so this was 0 to 100. I mean, I know she was probably just startled, but has anyone else seen this stomping behavior before? I am so hurt! (Emotionally)

2. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

Hi there Leahmig44 and Welcome to BYC [​IMG]

My first thought when reading your post was ‘Are you sure they are all pullets; no chance you have a rooster in the mix?’

For various reasons, my gals have given me a good peck or two and I have had a broody draw blood but I have never experienced the stomping. I have no experience with roosters but wonder if the stomping and talons is indicative of rooster behaviour.