1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My chickens only want to sleep in the nesting boxes

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by slothmonxtr, Sep 18, 2010.

1. slothmonxtr

slothmonxtr Out Of The Brooder

Aug 17, 2010
    So I am new to the game, and had always wanted to have chickens. So I got bored this summer and built me a chicken coop. I got a variety of different chickens, 3 Ameraucana, 3 black sexlinked, 1 white silkie, 1 tan silkie, and 1 other one I don't know what it is. [​IMG]

All of them but the one I don't know...I call her 'mother' are approximately 13-15 weeks old. Mother is much bigger and older.

Onto my question....I have a 4 x 6ft coop, and a fenced in 18 x 25 ft run. In the coop, I have 4 external nesting boxes. I have 2 seperate roosts. One of them is approximately 16 inches off the ground, and the other is approximately 24 inches.

Most of my chickens end up crowding/sleeping in 1 or 2 of the nesting boxes at night. I have seen all of them at one time or another on the roosts.

My question is...Is it okay, or normal, for them to sleep in the boxes? Or should I block off the boxes until they are ready to lay? Or is there another method?

Additionally, When would I expect them to start laying, or when should I switch their food to layer?

I would appreciate any help and assistance on this matter.

David from Utah

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    The nesting boxes don't take up any floor space and are external to the frame of the actual coop
    [​IMG]
    This photo was before I installed the second, lower, roost. The nesting boxes are on the left
    and the exit to go outside is on the right in the picture.
    [​IMG]
    This photo was prior to me installing the ladder

2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member