My Ducks Confuse Me

Danielle11

Hatching
Sep 7, 2020
I have 26 chickens and 2 ducks, I got them all when they were babies and they have always been kept in a coop and run together. Although I am familiar with chickens because I have had them before, this is my first time with ducks and Im not sure what to make of their behavior.

They are both females (apparently) but I dont know what breed they are because they were in a mixed bin when I got them. Im pretty positive that they are both girls because I think they both lay eggs (its hard to know for sure who lays eggs and whi doesnt. Theres a lot of eggs and they all like to share the same couple nesting boxes) and they were both sexed as females. Well I have seen one of them mounting the other one and biting its neck, which I assumed was them forming a "pecking order". I googled it and got many different answers like it "could" be them doing thst or it "could" be one of the ducks is taking on the males role. Okay, I can deal with that. Its not a big deal and it doesnt bother any of the chickens or even the other duck, they can do whatever they please.

Well out of my chickens, I have 2 Rhode Island Reds that are looking really rough. I ruled out moulting, mites/lice and all other possibilities besides bullying except that these two are some of the worse bullies out of the chickens. That confused me but I knew that there are a few other bullies so I just assumed when I wasnt around, they all were fighting each other. Thats how the pecking order goes, right?