My eggs are here!

farmgirlie1031

Songster
11 Years
Apr 26, 2008
IA
I got 30 and only one was broken. I later found a cracked one but all the others look okay. The order was for 24 plus extras. I am so happy! I'm crossing my fingers for a hatch. This is my first time incubating eggs and now I have White Showgirl Silkies, Red Long-Tailed Phoenix, Cream Brabanter, Black Sumatra, and a few Araucana/Americauna in the bator. All are purebreds except the Araucana/Americauna. They are a mix of both types running together. Fingers crossed! I hope I get a hatch.

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm so sad. I got 2 Phoenix and 1 EE baby to hatch. All the other eggs never developed or started to develop and then died. I now have more eggs in the bator but I am so scared. I have some more chicken eggs in there and some pheasant and quinea eggs are due to arrive today to put in there. I'm not sure what happened. I have the book about raising poultry and for one of the problems it said I had too high temps and another problem it said too low temps. Or it could have been either too high humidity or too low humidity! Yikes! I hope I get these new eggs right so I can have a better hatch rate. Even though I have 3 chicks I feel like such a failure and I was a Summa Cum Luade from the university with a 3.9 GPA! Now I have earned myself a big FAT F for failure!

Don't be so hard on yourself. Hatching is a tricky business, especially with shipped eggs. Consider this first hatch a learning experience and make the adjustments needed.

So give us some info about what type of incubator you have, what your temps and humidity levels were reading, etc. Maybe some folks here will have some suggestions for you.

hugs.gif

I have a used Hovabator. The temp stayed at 99.5 the whole time which is what the sticker on it said to use for all hatching eggs. It was purchased in 2000 and used 2x according to the person I got it from. I'm wondering if it's too old and I need a new one.